Joyce L. Connery, Chair Thomas A. Summers, Vice Chair Jessie H. Roberson

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

Washington, DC 20004-2901



July 29, 2021

The Honorable Jennifer M. Granholm Secretary of Energy US Department of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20585-1000

Dear Secretary Granholm:

The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board is pleased to recognize that the Department of Energy has named Mr. Wade Mosher of the Environmental Management, Idaho Cleanup Project (EM-ICP), as the 2020 Facility Representative of the Year.

During his participation in the federal operational readiness review at the Savannah River Site, Mr. Mosher's exceptional attention to detail and professionalism contributed to an effective readiness review and safe startup of the Salt Waste Processing Facility. At the Idaho National Laboratory, he provided effective oversight of the Integrated Waste Treatment Unit during the maintenance, testing, and operations phases in preparation for startup of radiological operations. Successfully meeting the challenges in overseeing these high-hazard nuclear facilities and operations makes Mr. Mosher well-deserving of this professional honor. In addition, the Board recognizes EM-ICP management for supporting Mr. Mosher and promoting nuclear safety.

The Board joins DOE and its field office managers in acknowledging the important contributions made by all DOE facility representatives and extends its sincerest congratulations and best wishes to Mr. Mosher. The Board invites Mr. Mosher to meet with its executives during his next visit to the Washington, DC, area.

Sincerely,

Joyce L. Connery

Joyce L. Connery Chair

Enclosure

c: Mr. William I. White Ms. Connie M. Flohr Mr. Wade Mosher Mr. Joe Olencz